Log in

No account? Create an account

January 2016

Powered by LiveJournal.com

Victorian Senate Ballot Ticket X – The Australian Republicans

Ticket X – The Australian Republicans - http://www.therepublicans.com.au/

The Republican Party of Australia was founded in 1982 by Peter Consandine, and first registered in 1992. It was deregistered in 2006 under Schedule 3 of the Electoral and Referendum Amendment (Electoral Integrity and Other Measures) Act 2006, and re-registered in 2013. It replaced the Australian Republican Party, which operated from 1949 to 1982. The Australian Republicans are separate to the Australian Republican Movement, which takes an apolitical approach to advocating for Australian becoming a republic, where the Australian Republicans seek political office to advocate for this. They are a secular-humanist libertarian party.

Their policies:
For: an Australian republic, a Charter of rights/freedoms/choices/values/responsibilities, an inquiry into Australian governance, reducing the three levels of government to one or two, decentralisation, planned land management practices, a federal land value taxation system along the lines of the system from 1910 – 1952, multi-member federal electorates, equal justice for all enshrined in law, equal opportunity, water security, food security, energy security, church and state matters clearly delineated, zero net migration, electoral reform, free enterprise, direct election of the head of state, all MP’s votes on each matter recorded in Hansard and reported in the media the next day, restrictions on election spending, public service boards to hire and fire the heads of public service departments, a new board to set the terms and conditions of employment for parliamentary representatives, direct election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives,

Against: emissions trading scheme, a monarch as head of state, MPs having to vote along party lines, the decline of the Australian dollar, privatisation, how-to-vote cards in federal elections, the Senate’s ability to block supply bills, Ministers of State in the Senate,

Preferences: Not submitted